Awards In India
Home > Gallantry Awards

Gallantry Awards

The Gallantry Awards are those kinds of awards which are presented for courage, valor and dignity. It’s presented for bravery and audacity. There are different types of gallantry awards like Param Vir Chakra, Vir Chakra and Mahavir Chakra. The description of the different kinds of awards is provided below.

Param Vir Chakra

India's highest armed forces beautification award is known as the Param Vir Chakra (PVC) is awarded for the uppermost height of fearlessness or forfeit during wars or battles. It was started on 26th January 1950 that is Republic Day by the Indian President. It came into result from 15th of August 1947 that is Independence Day. Awarded to officers or listed people from all categories of the Indian Armed forces. The subsequent uppermost award of the Indian government after Bharat Ratna is the PVC.

Maha Vir Chakra

The (MVC) or the Maha Vir Chakra is the second martial beautification and is won for performing noticeable heroism when enemies are present, irrespective of land, sea or air. Maha Veer meaning amazingly courageous. In July 1948 and 8 December 1971 Colonel Chewang Rinchen and in 2 November 1965 and January 1972 Brigadier Sant Singh won the Maha Vir Chakra.

Vir Chakra

Like other gallantry awards Vir Chakra is awarded heroism in the battleground. It is an embellishment third in preference of the Param Vir Chakra and Maha Vir Chakra. The award was set up by the President of India on 26 January 1950.It came into effect from 15 August in the year 1947 that is  when India got its Independence. The decree amended on 12 January, 1952 suggests readapting the decorum of wearing as new decoration as the mark of honor was constituted.


Bookmark and Share